RSS

Structuring the module and commit history

11 Jul

This previous week, I finished writing the LU decomposition for LILMatrix and started up writing a Matrix_ class. The Matrix_ class is a high level class which uses the three matrices DOKMatrix, LILMatrix, and DenseMatrix as internals.

While I was refactoring the Matrix class to making it more modular and removing high level functionalities, I faced some problems that I’d rather discuss with the list first.

I will be writing to the list to discuss what the public API of the matrix module should be. Only when that is done can we proceed with the structuring.

I’m proud to say that the algorithmic part of my project is over. I’m working on cleaning my commit history, writing docstrings, tests and cleaning up the code.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2011 in Sympy

 

3 responses to “Structuring the module and commit history

  1. saptman

    July 14, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    What? Already? Whats the loc count?

     
  2. Sherjil Ozair

    July 14, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    I think talking about functionality would be a better estimate. If, however, you want loc count, you can have it at the time of merge in.

     
  3. Sherjil Ozair

    July 14, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    Currently, the code’s all messed up. I’ve refactored stuff, added new stuff, some parts are commented some or not, so loc won’t be any useful. But if you want a rough estimate, the lilmatrix.py (completely written by me) is 600 lines, and the dokmatrix.py (half or more than half written by me) is 1000 lines. This is without tests and without docstrings.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

